download.jpg

Jennifer herrera

LITERARY AGENT

Jennifer Herrera joined the David Black Agency in 2015 after working at Fletcher & Company and Europa Editions, where she was an early advocate of Elena Ferrante. She went to college in Ohio, where she studied Philosophy, French, and Russian, and has master’s degrees in Philosophy and Social Sciences.

She loves reading nonfiction books about big ideas and is particularly drawn to smart, issue-driven books, especially those from journalists as well as writers with professional expertise, including science, psychology, philosophy, economics, prescriptive, lifestyle, history, and the stories of underrepresented groups.

 

Recent books she loves include: HIDDEN VALLEY ROAD by Robert Kolker, SAY NOTHING by Patrick Radden Keefe, KNOW MY NAME by Chanel Miller, HEAVY by Kiese Laymon, AN INDIGENEOUS PEOPLE’S HISTORY OF THE UNITED STATES by Roxanne Dubar-Ortiz, WINTERING by Catharine May, and A WOMAN OF NO IMPORTANCE by Sonia Purnell.

 

She is accepting non-fiction queries.

  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Jennifer's Debut novel

WILL BE ON SALE JANUARY 10, 2023

“This book is a bonfire on a dark night. Searing hot and enthralling. I want to live in Herrera’s language, where the ordinary becomes magical and strange. Fans of Tana French and Marisha Pessl, take note.”

–Melissa Larsen, author of Shutter

images.jpg